The Gray-Doolittle Awards for Research Excellence were established in 2018 to acknowledge the outstanding scientific contributions of emeritus professors Michael W. Gray and W. Ford Doolittle of the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology.

Elizabeth Weston, a past honours student in the laboratory of Professor Alastair Simpson (Biology), is the winner of the 2023 Junior Gray-Doolittle Award. The 2023 Senior Award goes to Dr. Gina Filloramo for the following publication: Filloramo, G. V., Blanche, E., Curtis, B. A., & Archibald, J. M. 2021. Re-examination of two diatom reference genomes using long-read sequencing. BMC Genomics. 22:379. 

Congratulations Elizabeth and Gina!